List of Funding Agencies

worldwide support

Over the past decades, Auroville has received support from a considerable number of governmental and non-governmental agencies, foundations, corporate donors and private well-wishers in India and abroad.

This selective list comprises funding agencies, which have supported specific research and pilot projects and programmes in Auroville and the neighbouring villages.

International Organisations

  • European Commission (EC)
  • ICEF (India – Canadian Environment Facility)
  • OECD/Hunger Campaign
  • United Nations Centre for Human Settlements (UNCHS)
  • United Nations Food and Agricultural Organization (FAO)

Foreign Governments & Governmental Organisations

  • BELGIUM : Algemene Belgische Ontwikkelingssamenwerking (ABOS)
  • CANADA : Canadian High Commission in India
  • DENMARK : Danish International Development Agency (DANIDA)
  • FRANCE : Ministère des Affaires Etrangères
  • GERMANY : Bundesministerium für Wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit
    Deutsche Welthunger Hilfe (FAO)
    Deutsche Gesellschaft für Technische Zusammenarbeit (GTZ)
    Foerdergemeinschaft Rotary Ludwigshafen
    German Agro-Action
    German Appropriate Technology Exchange(GATE)
    Kreditanstalt für Wiederaufbau (KFW)
    Ministerium für Bundes- und Europa-angelegenheiten des
    Landes Schleswig-Holstein
  • JAPAN : Japanese Embassy in India
  • NETHERLANDS: Royal Netherlands Embassy in India
  • NEW ZEALAND: New Zealand High Commission in India
  • SPAIN : Government of Navarra
    Municipality of Pamplona
  • K. : Overseas Development Administration (ODA now DFID)
  • USA : V.I.T.A. (Volunteers in Technical Assistance)

Foreign Non-Governmental Organisations

  • AUSTRALIA : Quaker Service Australia
  • CANADA : Centre Créatif l’Elan
  • FRANCE : Alliance Française
    Association Vitalis
    Communautés d’Emmaus
    Secours Populaire Français
    Deutsch – Indisches Kinderhilfswerk (DIK)
    Dritte Welt Kreis (DWK)
    Friedrich-Naumann Stiftung
  • ITALY : Association VIDYA
    Himalaya Trust
  • JAPAN : Human Performance Institute
  • NETHERLANDS: Stichting de Zaaier
  • SPAIN : Fundacion Centro Sri Aurobindo
  • K. : Commonwealth Human Ecology Council (CHEC)
    Findhorn Foundation
  • S.A. : Earthstewards Network
    Foundation for World Education
    Infinity Foundation
    Institute of Evolutionary Research
    Matagiri Centre
    Merriam Hill Centre
    Sri Aurobindo’s Action Centre
    Threshold Foundation
    Trickle-up Program
    Turtle Island Fund

Indian Government and Governmental Organisations

Government of India

  • Building Material & Technology Promotion Council (BMTPC)
  • Ministry of Education
  • Ministry of Environment
  • Ministry of Human Resource Development
  • Ministry of Non-conventional Energy Sources
  • Ministry of Rural Development
  • Ministry of Science and Technology
  • Housing and Urban Development Corporation (HUDCO)
  • Indian Council of Philosophical Research (ICPR)
  • Indian Navy
  • Indian Renewable Energy Development Agency (IREDA)
  • National Wasteland Development Board (NWDB)

Pondicherry Government

  • District Rural Development Agency (DRDA)

Tamil Nadu Government

  • Tamil Fund
  • Tamil Nadu Energy Development Agency (TEDA)
  • Tamil Nadu Family Welfare Board
  • Tamil Nadu Social Welfare Board
  • Tamil Nadu State Forest Department
  • TRYSEM Programme

Indian Non-Governmental Organisations & Businesses

  • All India Books
  • Aurofood
  • Auroshikha
  • Bombay Natural History Society
  • Credit Himatsingka
  • Indian Oil Corporation
  • Indian Tobacco Company
  • Janagri
  • R.D.Tata Trust
  • Modi Charitable Trust
  • New Horizon Sugar Mills
  • Oil and Natural Gas Corporation
  • Sri Aurobindo’s Action
  • Sri Aurobindo Memorial Fund
  • Dorabji Tata Trust
  • Ratan Tata Trust
  • Tata Energy Research Institute